Friday’s Featured Favorites 8.3.12

1. How many times can you slip on a brand new pair of shoes and work a 9 hour day on your feet with no resulting blisters or soreness? Not nearly enough! I (Charlotte) have just discovered that Sam Edelman flats are the remedy to the retail working girl woes of footwear. If I had an unlimited shoe budget I’d purchase one of each color!

2. The Helio Sequence are set to release a new album later this fall, and have just revealed it’s first single, “October.” Their last album, Keep Your Eyes Ahead, had me wow-ed to the core and it is decisively one of the top 5 albums I would leave planet Earth with. If I ever had to leave planet Earth. With only 5 albums. This single does not reveal much to go off of, but I’m staying tuned for the potential of what is to come.

3. I don’t always see eye to eye with Pitchfork, but this article about Passion Pit is well worth reading. At the heart of it, it reveals why it can be so difficult for artists to share their work in a world that is so bent on projecting their own interpretation and opinion onto the creative ventures of artists which are so often really the deepest outpourings of their soul and therefore so much more than an individual’s interpretation. It reminds us that we not only need to enjoy art for what we see it as, but we must also realize that we can learn so much more about the world around us when we also view it from the lens of its creator.

4. Hence, the inspiration/quote of the week – it sums up the Passion Pit article nicely.

5. Self explanatory.

6. Michael Kors’ reviews on Project Runway are priceless. If you have a tweet of the week you think we need to see, tweet at us – @LeCoeur_DeLaVie.

7. One night, I was headed out for a probably semi date that I really was adamant about NOT wanting to be a date and sort of in denial about this poor boy who wanted it to mean so much more. As I am complaining about how much I’m dreading it, Morgan cuts me off and says that I need to “JUST THROW THE BIRDS OUT THE WINDOW.” Well, what she meant to say was some version of “throw caution to the wind” – to get rid of my expectations and just go with the flow and see if something was there once I did. Though the date was a fail, this phrase is clearly a win, and has become one we toss around quite regularly. Now you know!

8. I woke up to this one in my email inbox from Morgan earlier this week, saying “CHAR this is so us!!” It reminded me of our many college nights spent contemplating whether we REALLY wanted to participate in all of the dorm bonding or group activities or whatever else was happening. We usually opted for movie nights or the sewing lab instead, since those were always free from the immaturity we attempt to avoid.

2 thoughts on “Friday’s Featured Favorites 8.3.12

  1. Pingback: Friday’s Featured Favorites 8.10.12 | lecoeurdelavie

Leave a Reply

